If you have been accused of assault by another person in the state of New Hampshire, it is imperative that you take your rights seriously and these charges seriously by contacting an experienced criminal defense attorney. An individual can be accused of committing the crime of simple assault by causing any offensive contact to another person. In the event that the assault leads to serious injury or if the assault is committed against public officials or children, this can be classified as a felony under New Hampshire’s aggravated assault laws.
Assault convictions can influence your future and tarnish your reputation. Making the wrong choice in a criminal defense lawyer can unnecessarily make your life more difficult. You want someone who will step in right away to investigate the best options for you personally. Having worked with numerous individuals in this situation, I know what it takes to determine the right defense strategy and start working for you immediately. Time is of the essence and experience counts with your lawyer. Make sure you find someone who is just as dedicated to protecting your rights as you are.
You may be accused of committing simple assault if you knowingly or purposely caused any bodily injury through some type of offensive physical contact. This is outlined under the New Hampshire Revised Statutes 626:2. Intentionally striking another individual can be classified as simple assault. Throwing an object towards someone may also be classified as assault. Anytime that you recklessly caused bodily injury to another person, you can be accused of simple assault. Simple assault might sound like a minor matter, but it carries serious consequences. Make sure you take action immediately.
If you have been accused of simple assault or recklessly placing another person in danger, these are both misdemeanors that can be punished by up to $2000 in fines and a year in jail. If your crime is classified as simple assault during mutual combat, this can be punished by fines of up to $1000. Understanding the charges against you and retaining an experienced attorney as soon as possible after you have been accused of assault is imperative.
Do not make the mistake of assuming that a misdemeanor charge is a minor matter that you can handle on your own. You need to take your case seriously by working with a lawyer who will evaluate all possible options for resolution.
First-degree assault in New Hampshire can be punished by up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $4000. Second-degree assault is a Class B felony in New Hampshire, carrying fines of up to $4000 and up to seven years in prison. Getting legal advice from an experienced attorney is strongly recommended as soon as possible after you have been accused or a crime. This may be the only way to protect your rights and explore all possible avenues for having your charges reduced or dismissed.
When accused of assault in New Hampshire, you want an advocate who cares about defining a strong defense strategy and pursues meaningful outcomes for you. The right lawyer can make a big difference for assault charges. Contact me today to protect your rights in the best possible way.